Abia State Ministry Of Education
  • Open Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00 am-5:00 pm
  • Email:
  • Address: Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe Secretariate Umuahia, Abia State.

Our Parastatals


The Ministry has the following parastatals and tertiary institutions under its supervision:

  • Secondary Education Management Board (SEMB) The Board is in charge of recruitment, deployment and supervision of teachers for upper basic education. The board is also in charge of schools monitoring, data documentation, maintenance and general management of the three education zones of Abia State. The board is headed by Mr. Christopher Osuagwu
  • The Abia State Universal Basic Education Board (ASUBEB) : The board operates the Universal Basic Education involving children of ages 6-15 through provision of child friendly facilities, suitable learning environment, monitoring of teachers for foundational empowerment. The Board is headed by Elder Okechukwu Anonaba
  • The Abia State Library Board: The Board is in charge of all Government Libraries in the State. The Board is headed by Mr. Chimuche Ekeledo
  • Agency for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education: The agency serves as an instrument for the eradication of illiteracy in the State and is headed by Mr. Douglas Nwaorji
  • Abia State Scholarship Board: The Board coordinates overseas and national scholarships and bursary awards to Abia students. The Board is headed by Mr. Daniel Chukwuka.
  • Education for Employment (E4E): The E4E is charged with the coordination of the IDEAS project and the functional education for Abia youth in technical courses/trades. It is headed by Mr Endy Ezengwa
  • Abia State Education Support Fee and Education Trust Fund: The fund is an interventionist establishment aimed at assisting primary, secondary and tertiary institutions in the state. The fund is headed by Mr. Isaac Iwe
  • Continuing Teachers Training Centre: The Centre is charged specifically with the training of teachers both in the Ministry and in the school system. The Centre is headed by Mr. Ben Iroakazi
  • Abia State Primary Schools Lunch Programme (APSLUP): Domiciled in the office of the wife of the Governor, this agency provides free school meals for pupils in public primary schools and is headed by Elder Chukwuemeka Ahuruonye


  • Abia State University, Uturu (ABSU), headed by Prof. Maxwell Ogbulu
  • Abia State Polytechnic, Aba, headed by Dr. Kalu Osonwa
  • College of Education (Technical), Arochukwu headed by Dr. Philips Nto



Abia State Scholarship Board.


Abia State Library Board


Education Trust Fund


Education for Employment (E4E)


The Continuing Teachers Training Centre



Go To Top